Wednesday, June 27, 2007

NZ Protests Alinghi

VALENCIA - Team New Zealand will have to wait until tonight to find out if their protest against an incident which occurred at the end of race four in the America's Cup is upheld.
Alinghi won today's race by 30 seconds to square the series at 2-2 but the protest could, in theory, turn the scoreline into 3-1 to Team New Zealand.
That's the theory - but the reality will not be seen until today in Valencia (9pm NZT) when the race jury considers the protest after a strange sequence of events at the end of race four, won comfortably by Alinghi by 30s. It was the first appearance in the Cup match of the infamous rules and technicalities - but it may be unlikely to rob Alinghi of the race or even force a re-sail. The incident occurred at the end of the race when race director Peter Reggio called on both boats to demonstrate they could lower their mainsails correctly - after which an Alinghi crewman climbed the mast. Alinghi strategist Murray Jones explained their side of the story after officials had elected to do a random measurement check on the Swiss boat.
More at

Update: Protest has been dismissed