Monday, May 17, 2010

Alex Jackson Wins 2010 Melges 32 East Coast Championship

Photo by Joy
16 MAY 2010

Rye, N.Y., 16 May 2010 - Congratulations to Alex Jackson on Leenabarca as he, and tactician Rob Greenhalgh with crew of Peter Greenhalgh, Steve Irish, Jesse Fielding, Chris Coulson, David Rasmussen and Jeffery Brantley are 2010 Melges 32 East Coast Champions. In second overall, Phil Lotz on Arethusa had an outstanding day on the water. Kip Meadows on roXanne was third.

After two great days of racing just outside of Milton Harbor, the East Coast Championship concluded with one, five-leg race to decide the title. Gorgeous, sunny skies, warm temperatures and light, shifty, tricky breezes greeted the fleet for the start.

2010 ECC Champion Jackson blasted off the line, shooting out in front of the fleet almost instantly. At the other end of the line was Michael Dominguez on Bronco tacking out to the right alongside of Malcolm Gefter’s Celeritas. Dominguez worked the right, then the middle, putting his Melges 32 in second, right behind Gefter rounding the weathermark in first. Dominguez and Lotz were quick to challenge for the lead, but it was Bronco who got ahead, holding their own staying mainly left for pressure. Bob Hughes on Heartbreaker and Meadows followed. Lotz looked a little too much to the right for breeze, shuffling him back to round fifth behind Jason Carroll’s Argo in fourth. On the second to last upwind leg, Lotz took a right side lane that carried him ahead, paving the way for a massive lead at the windward mark. Dominguez, Hughes and Meadows were a little hung out to dry as Jackson’s Leenabarca got back in the hunt right behind Lotz for second. Dominguez rounded third. With a substantial lead, Lotz passed through the final leeward gate several boat lengths ahead. Jackson followed, then Rod Jabin on Ramrod, and Dominguez. Lotz continued on with his big lead for the finish-to-windward win. Right behind, a great battle for second took place between Jackson and Jabin. Jackson took second by a hair, Jabin was third.

An awards ceremony was held immediately following at American Yacht Club where the top three teams were given trophies.

The International Melges 32 Class would like to thank all the teams that participated and the incredible hospitality of the American Yacht Club. The parties, dinner and fair was phenomenal.

A very special thank you to Ed Tillinghast, whose dedication and passion for the Melges 32 is evident. Especially, we thank Ed for welcoming the fleet into his home club, the American Yacht Club, and further encouraging the growth of the Melges 32 class.

On a side note: Kip Meadows wishes to thank all of the sponsors of his Perrier, Dupont, Moet & Chandron, Ford, North Sails, Southern Spars, Brooks Brothers, National Guard roXanne Melges 32.

Top Three Results
1.) Alex Jackson/Rob Greenhalgh, Leenabarca; 8-3-[12]-3-5-6-1-1-2 = 29
2.) Phil Lotz/Russ Salvestri, Arethusa; [10]-6-4-5-6-2-3-6-1 = 32
3.) Kip Meadows/Andy Horton, roXanne; 6-2-3-2-8-4-[9]-3-5 = 34

Full Crew List
View East Coast Championship Photo Gallery