Sunday, October 21, 2007

Hutchinson brings it!

Annapolis, Md.; Eastport Yacht Club - Terry Hutchinson on Quantum Racing with his crew of Scott Nixon, Morgan Trubovich, Brian Janney and Tara Thomas are the 2007 Melges 24 Northeast District Champions!

Hutchinson put some distance between himself and the fleet, at least a two minute lead. With a course change at the gate, Hutchinson headed right looking for pressure. Norris hung on in second, Junge stayed third with Carleton in fourth. The breeze was on the increase. It was another big win for Hutchinson, Norris closed the gap a little to comfortably take second. The real battle though was between Carlton, Field making up ground challenging for fourth, Sean Scarborough on 'Rhino' and Blumencron are also in the mix.

There was just enough time to get another race in before the two o'clock cut off. With the breeze reaching into the 7-10 knot range, Hutchinson launched off the pin end in race two with Simon Strauss on Gill, Jim Golden on Chillout, Carleton, Blumencron and Norris in full chase. Blumencron commanded the lead at the windward mark followed by corinthians Strauss and Al Girard helming for JC Raby on No Decorm. They fought for position from the mark to the offset, Strauss on the inside taking an ever so slight lead. - 2007 JOY U.S. Melges 24 Class Association