Friday, August 27, 2010

2010 Knickerbocker Cup

Watch live streaming video from kcup at

Day One Concludes with Phil Roberston (NZL) leading at the 2010 Knickerbocker Cup

Port Washington, NY – Phil Robertson, Waka Racing (NZL), with crew Garth Ellingham, James Williamson and Sam Bell have taken are in the lead on Day One at the 28th Knickerbocker Cup. Upon arrival in Port Washington, Robertson made it known that he “came to win” the Cup this year, after coming in third place behind the 2009 Cup winner, Rueben Corbett, Black Sheep Racing (NZL) and Dave Perry, Team Perry (USA), a close second. Roberson’s only loss was to Bill Hardesty, (USA).

Eugeniy Neugodnikov, Synergy (RUS) has won all five matches against Sergey Musikhin, Rusteam (RUS), William Tiller, Full Metal Jacket Racing (NZL), Nicolai Sehested, TRE-FOR Match Racing (DEN), Barkow, Team 7 Racing (USA) and Anna Tunnicliffe, Gus (USA).

The wind was up on Manhasset Bay and PRO Sue Miller completed 13 flights and 39 matches, the most ever for the Knickerbocker Cup. Under beautiful blue skies, cool temperatures and good wind, the day was perfect for spectators, and kayakers, sail and power boats were out enjoying the view. For those who didn’t make it out to the water, live streaming video was available at

Thomson Reuters is a major sponsor of the 2010 Knickerbocker Cup. The world’s leading source of intelligent information for businesses and professionals, Thomson Reuters combines industry expertise with innovative technology to deliver critical information to leading decision makers in the financial, legal, tax and accounting, scientific, healthcare and media markets.

The Colgate 26 is the official boat of the 2010 Knickerbocker Cup.

For more information: and

Standings after Day 1:

Phil Robertson (NZL) 7-1
Eugeniv Neugodnikov RUS 5-0
Anna Tunnicliffe (USA) 5-3
Bill Hardesty (USA) 4-1
Sally Barkow (USA) 4-4
William Tiller (NZL) 3-2
Reuben Corbett (NZL) 3-5
Dave Perry (USA) 3-5
Henrique Haddad (BRA) 2-3
Taylor Canfield (ISV) 1-4
Sergey Musikhin (RUS) 1-4
Nicolai Sehested (DEN) 1-7