Thursday, April 10, 2008

Team Russia names crew members

Photo onEdition (l-r) Andreas Hanakamp, Oleg Zherebtstov and Rodion Luka
MOSCOW, Russia - Press conference held at Moscow International Boat Show, skipper Andreas Hanakamp and syndicate president Oleg Zherebtstov announce five key crew members that will join Team Russia to sail in the Volvo Ocean Race 2008-09. In an exciting line up that unites experienced Whitbread and Volvo Ocean Race veterans with Olympic and leading internationals sailors, Team Russiaís crew now comprises:
Two former Volvo veterans Guillermo Altadill and Stig Westergaard named aswatch captains, Olympic silver medallist Rodion Luka takes the job of helmsman, Wouter Verbraak is the team navigator and finally, Vladimir 'Kuli'Kulinichenko as sail maker.
Two Russian media team members were also announced today, Leonid Dubeykovskiy and Sergey Bogdanov, who will fill the media berth on some ofthe legs. -