Wednesday, August 13, 2008

2008 Lightning North American Championship

NEWPORT, RI - Tuesday's racing in the 2008 Lightning North American Championship -- hosted by the NYYC -- added only one race to the total, as a rain storm cancelled the breeze. After three races Matt Fisher, Dan Moriarty and Tobi Moriarty are one point ahead of Jody Lutz, Jay Lutz and Taylor Lutz in the Championship Fleet. Bill Healy, Tim Healy and Nicole Breault have moved into third. In the President’s Cup Fleet the results among the top three remain the same as yesterday: Robert Ruhlman, Dave Werley and Abby Ruhlman lead; Peter Denton, Tom Slook/John Townsend and Weston Barlow are second and Justin Coplan, Fiona Gordon and Ellen Turk are third. In the Governor’s Cup Fleet, Richard Walsh, Alec Smith and Alex Cox are now alone in first with Marcus Moehlman, Eli Putnam and Emily Paulos, second, and Clinton Hayes, Matthew Clarke and Stephen Widdis third. Racing for the 97 boats continues through today, August 13. Click Here for Results