Thursday, February 5, 2009

New Perpetual Trophy: Transpac



Organizers of the 2,225 mile Transpacific Yacht Race from Los Angeles to Honolulu have announced a new perpetual trophy for competitors in the Open Division. The newly established Open Division was created for those monohulls which utilize waivers under the Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) for movable ballast and/or the use of powered sail handling gear. These entries will be eligible for a new shortest elapsed time trophy which is currently under development by TPYC. This perpetual award is intended to be a trophy that emphasizes the high-tech, unlimited, modern world of yacht racing - truly created for those yacht owners that push the edge of design, development, and performance.

All monohull entries, regardless of waivers, continue to be eligible for the Course Record Trophy. The "Clock Trophy" record as it is commonly referred to, currently stands at 6 days 16 hours 4 minutes and 11 seconds set by the Morning Glory during the 2005 race. This is only 21% faster than the 30 year old Merlin record. A great challenge for the Clock Trophy is to cut the original 1906 record in half, which would require sailing the 2,225 mile course in 6 days 3 hours or less.

Those entries that utilize waivers for canting keels, water ballast, and/or motorized winches shall be specifically rated and all monohulls continue to be eligible for the King Kalakaua Trophy for First Overall and other handicap trophies.

With the addition of the new Open Division perpetual, the legendary Barn Door Trophy will remain as the traditional shortest elapsed time trophy for the more traditional (RRS compliant) monohulls which race independent of waivers for movable ballast and/or powered sail handling. "We are very pleased to be offering a new perpetual award for the Open Division, says Transpac Yacht Club Commodore Dale Nordin, We look forward to supporting these exciting boats as they begin to build yet another Transpac tradition."

For additional information, please contact Mike Nash - Transpac Entry Chairman at 714.501.3494 or via email at