Sunday, March 9, 2008

Bacardi Winners

Maimi: Portugal's Afonso Domingos and crew Bernardo Santos won the 2008 Bacardi Cup Star Class Regatta on Friday on Biscayne Bay.
The duo, also the 2004 champions, are the only European sailors to win the regatta in its 81-year history.
Domingos and Santos, who will represent Portugal in the 2008 Olympics, finished second in both of Friday's races to take the overall lead. They edged Iain Percy and crew Andrew Simpson of Britain in a tiebreaker based on their finishes in the final race. Full Report