Wednesday, November 7, 2007

Baird & Leroy win World Sailor of the Year

Photo by: Rolex / Carlo Borlenghi
ISAF and Rolex are proud to announce that the male and female winners of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are: Ed Baird (USA) and Claire Leroy (FRA)

"Sailing is a wonderful team sport," said Claire Leroy, upon receiving her award. "This year has been incredible- thank you so much for your support, it will contribute greatly to our time in the Olympics."

Ed Baird took to the stage and in a voice that showed true emotion he said, "this has been a massive effort by a big, big team. The America's Cup is a dream for us all, but our sport is so much more than that. I would really like to acknowledge all of you who are here in support. Thank you." -